It Was Fun While It Lasted

There’s new article in the wildly famous Dunwoody Crier publication exposing the lack of attendance and revenues being generated by the Brook Run Skate Park.

As is typical with media, they play opportunists, and wait until the dead of winter to call the park a failure.

It’s pretty logical to assume the attendance will be down in winter and up in the spring and summer months. Amazing how that works…

Read for yourself:

Skate park revenues, attendance lagging

…then, of course the Dunwoody North Civic Association, haters of the park from day one of it’s announcement, jumped all over the story. They’d love to see the park fail and become a place for their dogs to pee.

The solution is simple, as I posted in comment on the Civic Association web site:

“Man – it’s funny when local government scratches their head when business considerations are presented. This is a slam dunk…”

>> More of my comment left at the Civic Association blog

Let us know your thoughts…

10 Comments

Filed under Blog

10 responses to “It Was Fun While It Lasted

  1. It is really hard to say that I hate the park when I am an annual member and take my son there on a regular basis. It was me who published the first blog notice of the skate board lessons and I will continue to support the park where I see fit.

    Please remember that the county said that there would be small skate park and in return they clear cut five acres of trees and put in the largest skate park in GA. We the neighbors have a vested interest in the success of the facility and the community in general would be interested in the finances due to the possibility of a city whereby the city would run the park.

    I appreciate your comments on my blog and if I could add to your list; the skate park needs to accept credit cards. Everyday they are turning money away because it is a cash only establishment.

  2. John says, “It is really hard to say that I hate the park when I am an annual member and take my son there on a regular basis. ”

    Not true John. I hate Chess. But I take my son to his Chess matches and support his stoke. As parents, what else can we do?

    but, right on…

    Many of my comments are bit tongue-n-cheek, but it only takes a second to search the web and recognize the negative slant that the residents have had from day one.

    It’s nothing new – skaters vs. residents is as old as concrete wheels.

    Fair enough on blog posts and your “support where you see fit…”

    I also appreciate your comments here… Nothing is more interesting than two guys coming at the skate park from two totally different perspectives.

    I have to ask – If it was a soccer field, would the Civic Association be as intense? Tree removal and all?

  3. Nope, there are 33 acres of wide open space in the back of the park where the hospital used to sit. This area should be opening soon.

    Again the counties conservation & planning skills match their marketing skills when it comes to promoting the park.

    Trust me I am very happy the skate park is getting used and I truly do support it.

  4. Come on, John…

    If we are going to have a discussion, please stay on point.

    I’m not talking about the old hospital demolition. I am talking about the space where Brook Run Skate Park lives today.

    I think it’s safe to say much of the disgust from residents, maybe not you, but from a majority of the residents was the fact that it was a ‘skate park’ and thus going to be used by ‘skaters’

    It’s a fair concern for these residents since a lot of skaters have not had much concern with positive image – but at least admit it.

    That’s all I’m getting at with my “soccer field” question. …and trying to show why a feeling of prejudice is felt in the skating community with regards to the park.

  5. Christian,

    If you get that impression, it definitely doesn’t come from me. Remember, I actually skate (not real well), but I spent three and a half hours on my board last Saturday morning.

    The skate park was bigger then originally described, placed in the wrong location with big scary lights and speakers. I voiced my opinions and over time the park has not caused as many issues as originally feared. The only item I am looking to change is the replacement of screening trees along the street line in order to block out some of the light for the residents who live on Peeler.

    Is there a way in which I could assist the skate community in alleviating this perceived prejudice?

  6. >> John asks, “Is there a way in which I could assist the skate community in alleviating this perceived prejudice?”

    I think you are doing a pretty good job of doing that now.

    Much respect.

  7. barrie

    My 3.5 year old son has shown an interest in learning to skateboard. I understand that there are group lessons on Sat mornings. What does he need to know how to do before the lessons start, or are these “from the beginning” lessons that will teach him out to get on, balance and pump?
    Thanks

  8. DaddyYo

    While it lasted? Let’s hope this park isn’t counted out. I haven’t been able to get to it yet.

    I skate at the Concrete Wave Country (CWC) skatepark at Two Rivers Park in Nashville, TN. I helped start the park and have skated there 4 days a week, just about every week since it opened four years ago.

    Frankly, I find the complaint about this park and the revnue it is/isn’t generating kinda of funny. I side with those who ask the other park facilities to justify their existance based on revenue generated.

    The attendance figures are meaningless as well. How much complaining occured after tennis lost popularity in the late eighties or numbers fall off in the winter.

    After seeing this site, reading this discussion and seeing better photofraghs of the park I am ready for a road trip. When I travel to a skatepark I bring my wife and two children.

    They shop or sightsee while I ride on one day while we shop/sightsee as a family the next day after staying in a hotel overnight. Figure that tax revenue and tourist dollars into the value of a skatepark that you don’t get with a tennis court.

    The only thing I can see about this park that I wouldn’t like is the music. I agree with the no-metal opinion. It is angry music and makes people angry. Reggae, Ska or surf music is much more skate related.

    Our local indoor skatepark play metal so loud you can hear other skaters approach. I don’t skate there because it is too loud.

    The CWC has no music and I like it fine like that.

    By comparison, the CWC has no supervision, is free, requires helmets, allows bikes mixed with skateboarders (no problem) and has not had a single Parks Department sponsored event since opening day.

    The biggest problem at the CWC is the crowds.

    I look forward to visiting your skatepark soon.

  9. Noel Campbell

    The reason for less attendance than predicted? The next county over offers many comparable skateparks that are free and allow bikes any time – without peg restrictions or sections that are off limits. And more are on the way.

    In 2006, when Brook Run was being designed, it was (locally) very relevant. Now? Nope. It’s the closest skatepark to me, but as a bike rider I haven’t gone in over a year.

    John’s credit card comment points out an obvious flaw, too.

  10. I just found this park yesterday during a detour around thick traffic on 285. I used to live right down the street from the park… but now I live in Lawrenceville, and after skating there yesterday – rest assured that I will be driving back to Dunwoody on a regular basis!

Leave a Reply

